CLARIFICATION: Entries will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 31, 2016.

The Nelson Algren Literary Awards starts at 10:01 p.m. (CT) on Dec. 1, 2015, and ends at 11:59 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 31, 2016. By June 1st, 2016, a panel of judges will select 10 winners (one grand prize winner, four finalists and five runners up)

Your name and contact information MUST NOT appear on any page of your story. 

If you are submitting two entries, please submit each entry separately. NOTE: Only 2 entries are allowed per person. 

If you need to withdraw a story, you can do this directly by logging in. 

View Your Submissions

- Hide Guidelines

Ends in 2 days, 11 hours

This contest is open to residents of the United States. All entries must be:
- Fiction
- Less than 8,000 words
- Double spaced
- Written in English
One grand prize winner will receive $3,500. Four finalists will each receive $1,000. Five runners-up will each receive $500. Total value of all prizes: $10,000.
The contestant's name must not appear on any page of the story.